People

Principle Investigators

John Bang

Associate Professor and Chair Department of Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

jjbang@nccu.edu
+1 (919) 530-6569
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Lee Ferguson

Associate ProfessorDepartment of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Duke University

lee.ferguson@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5460
Faculty Profile
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Joan Rose

Homer Nowlin Chair in Water Research, ProfessorDepartment of Fisheries and WildlifeDepartment of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Michigan State University

rosejo@msu.edu
+1 (517) 432-4412
Faculty Profile
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Vlad Tarabara

ProfessorDepartment of Civil and Environmental EngineeringEnvironmental Science and Policy Program
Michigan State University

tarabara@msu.edu
+1 (517) 432-1755
Faculty Profile
Assessment and evaluation
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Mark Wiesner

ProfessorDepartment of Civil and Environmental EngineeringDirector, Center for the Environmental Implications of NanoTechnology
Duke University

wiesner@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5292
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Senior Personnel

Andre Bénard

Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Michigan State University

benard@egr.msu.edu
+1 (517) 432-1522
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Ashutosh Chilkoti

Theo Pilkington Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Duke University

chilkoti@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5373
Faculty Profile

Marc Deshusses

Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Duke University

marc.deshusses@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5480
Faculty Profile

Jay Golden

Associate Professor of the Practice for Sustainable Systems Analysis, Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Nicholas School of the Environment.Director, Duke Center for Sustainability and Commerce
Duke University

jay.golden@duke.edu
+1 (919) 613-3646
Faculty Profile

Norman Graham

Professor, International Relations, James Madison CollegeDirector, Center for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Michigan State University

grahamn@msu.edu
+1 (517) 353-3372
Faculty Profile

Claudia Gunsch

Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Duke University

ckgunsch@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5208
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Heileen (Helen) Hsu-Kim

Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Duke University

hsukim@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5109
Faculty Profile
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Tomas Hult

Byington Endowed Chair and Professor, Marketing and International BusinessDirector, Center for International Business Education and Research
Michigan State University

hult@bus.msu.edu
+1 (517) 353-4336
Faculty Profile
IRT3: Life cycle and sustainability analysis of transport and production scenarios

Glenda Kelly

Research Scientist
Duke University

glenda.kelly@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5575
Assessment and evaluation
Outreach

Desiree Plata

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Duke University

desiree.plata@duke.edu
+1 (919) 660-5209
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Avner Vengosh

Professor, Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Nicholas School of the Environment
Duke University

vengosh@duke.edu
+1 (919) 681-6831
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Thomas Voice

Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Michigan State University

voice@egr.msu.edu
+1 (517) 353-9718
Faculty Profile
Assessment and evaluation

Irene Xagoraraki

Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Michigan State University

xagorara@egr.msu.edu
+1 (517) 353-8539
Faculty Profile
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Faculty Consultants

Erin Dreelin

Associate Director, Center for Water Sciences. Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife
Michigan State University

dreelin@msu.edu
+1 (517) 353-7746
Faculty Profile
Assessment and evaluation
Outreach

Charles Petty

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Michigan State University

petty@egr.msu.edu
+1 (517) 353-5486
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Students

Esther Adaghe

MS Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

Jaimun Agnihotry

Undergraduate Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

Gargy Agnihotry

Undergraduate Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

Chinazor Azubike

MS Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

Elizabeth M. B. Bloomhardt-Doran

PhD Student, Division of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Nicholas School of the Environment
Duke University

liz.bloomhardt@duke.edu

Alex Casabuena

MS Student, Environmental Engineering
Michigan State University

casabuen@msu.edu

Jane Cooper

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

jane.cooper@duke.edu

Hien Dang

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Michigan State University

hiendang@msu.edu
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Noelle DeStefano

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

noelle.destefano@duke.edu
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Brian Drollette

PhD Student, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Duke University

brian.drollette@duke.edu
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Marielle DuToit

PhD Student, Environmental EngineeringDuke University PhD student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

marielle.dutoit@duke.edu

Matthew Flood

PhD student, Fisheries and WildlifeMSU Environmental Science and Policy Fellow
Michigan State University

floodmat@msu.edu
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Billy Gerhard

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

Haley Harrison

MS Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences 
Centre Européen de Recherche et d'Enseignement des Géosciences de l'Environnement

hharri15@eagles.nccu.edu
Photocatalytic membranes for ballast water treatment
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Corliss Johnson

MS Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

cjohn122@eagles.nccu.edu
Photocatalytic membranes for ballast water treatment
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Osman Karatum

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

osman.karatum@duke.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Kumar Kshitij

Undergraduate researcher, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

kkumar@eagles.nccu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Alexandra Malin

MS Student, Chemistry
Michigan State University

malinale@msu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Sina Jahangiri Mamouri

PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
Michigan State University

Jahangi5@msu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Brandon Morrison

PhD Student
Duke University

brandon.morrison@duke.edu

Shawn Muslim

MS Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

smuslim@eagles.nccu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Rosaline Nyalley

Undergraduate researcher, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

rnyallay@eagles.nccu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Damilola Okunsokan

Undergraduate researcher, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

dokunsok@eagles.nccu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Tierra Poteat

MS Student, Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
North Carolina Central University

tpoteat1@eagles.nccu.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Grace Schwartz

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

ges15@duke.edu

Hang Shi

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Michigan State University

shihang2@msu.edu
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Amalia Turner

PhD student, Environmental EngineeringNSF Graduate Research FellowChateaubriand Fellow
Duke University

amalia.turner@duke.edu

Nathaniel Warner

Earth & Ocean Sciences
Duke University

nathaniel.warner@duke.edu

Judy Winglee

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Duke University

judith.winglee@duke.edu
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Zhefei Yang

PhD Student, Chemistry
Michigan State University

yangzhef@chemistry.msu.edu

Affiliated Students

Evan OBrien

PhD Student, Environmental Engineering
Michigan State University

obrienev@msu.edu

International Partners

André Ayral

Professor
University of Montpellier

andre.ayral@umontpellier.fr
+33 4 67 14 91 43
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Jean-Yves Bottero

Director
Centre Européen de Recherche et d'Enseignement des Géosciences de l'Environnement

bottero@cerege.fr
+33 (044) 297-1515
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

J. Paul Chen

Associate Professor Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
National University of Singapore

Jia Wei Chew

Assistant Professor, School of Chemical and Biomedical EngineeringCluster Leader, Singapore Membrane Technology Center
Nanyang Technological University

JChew@ntu.edu.sg
+65 6316 8916
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Tony Fane

ProfessorDirector-Mentor, Singapore Membrane Technology Center
Nanyang Technological University

agfane@ntu.edu.sg
+65 6790 5272
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Karina GinYew-Hoong

Associate Professor, National University of Singapore
National University of Singapore

ceeginyh@nus.edu.sg
+65 6516 8104
Faculty Profile
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Marc Heran

Associate Professor
University of Montpellier

marc.heran@univ-montp2.fr
+33 4 67 14 37 23
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Jiangyong Hu

Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
National University of Singapore

esehujy@nus.edu.sg
+65 6516 4540
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Barry C. Kelly

Assistant Professor Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
National University of Singapore

Ismail Koyuncu

Professor, Department of Environmental EngineeringDirector, National Research Center on Membrane Technologies (MEM-TEK)
Istanbul Technical University

koyuncu@itu.edu.tr
+90 (212) 285-3789
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Lai Yoke Lee

Research Fellow, Department of Civil and Environmental EngineeringNUS Tropical Marine Science Institute
National University of Singapore

tmslly@nus.edu.sg
+65 6516 3003
Faculty Profile
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Geoffroy Lesage

Associate professor
University of Montpellier

Geoffroy.Lesage@univ-montp2.fr
+33 4 67 14 33 13
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Jérôme Rose

Director of research, Interfaces and Transport Processes
Centre Européen de Recherche et d'Enseignement des Géosciences de l'Environnement

rose@cerege.fr
+33 (044) 297-1529
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution

Stéphanie Roualdes

Assistant Professor
University of Montpellier

stephanie.roualdes@umontpellier.fr
+33 4 67 14 91 81
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution

Rong Wang

Associate ProfessorDirector, Singapore Membrane Technology Center
Nanyang Technological University

rwang@ntu.edu.sg
+65 6790 5327
Faculty Profile
IRT1: Technologies to remediate commerce-related environmental pollution
IRT2: Methods for monitoring and diagnosis of environmental pollution